EUROPEAN SCRIPT AWARD

The jury unanimously awarded the European Script Award to We Got This, a series co-written and performed by Schiaffino Musarra. Endowed with 10'000 EUR and awarded by the European Alliance for Television and Culture (EATC), the European Script Award was presented to GIFF for the first time this year. Despite the cancellation of the 26th edition, the jury, composed of Nicolas Dufour (CH), Elena Hazanov (RU-CH) and Raphaël Nieuwjaer (FR), deliberated online to determine the winner of the prize among three pre-selected series : We Got This, Grow, Hide and Seek.

GENEVA DIGITAL MARKET ➔ NOVEMBER 9 – 13

The Geneva Digital Market is a place for reflection, exchange and networking for both audiovisual and digital professionals and festival-goers. This year, it goes online! You can find all the activities in live streaming and rebroadcast here. For accredited professionals, we offer a virtual meeting place to organize your matchmaking appointments with the different participants as well as an online XR Media Library: the opportunity to experience a large part of our official selection of immersive works and more.

THE 26TH EDITION IS CANCELLED

Following the recent decisions of the Federal Council and facing the health situation that is getting worse by the day, the Geneva International Film Festival has taken the heavy decision to cancel its next edition, which was scheduled to take place from November 6 to 15, 2020. The event's professional event, the Geneva Digital Market, takes place online, as initially planned. Download the press release

GIFF x PLAY SUISSE

Online since November 7, the SRG's new platform "Play Suisse" offers a range of films, series, documentaries and concert compilations as well as a special GIFF selection dedicated to films that have made Swiss cinema history. Free of charge and accessible throughout Switzerland, visit the SRG SRG website to view the entire Swiss audiovisual heritage!

CHECK OUT THE 26TH EDITION'S TRAILER!

The 26th edition in pictures!

FOCUS

OUR DIGITAL SELVES

Since 2016, the GIFF has been offering a platform for the dissemination of Swiss digital creation as part of its professional program (Geneva Digital Market). Revealing all the richness of this artistic scene, the exhibition Our Digital Selves invites the public to open up to new territories of thought through a selection of works revisited or produced especially for the occasion. + d'infos  +link GDM

THE PLAZA VR CINEMA

It is in this mythical space that the GIFF installs a virtual cinema equipped with swivel seats and RV helmets. The public can experience - in complete safety, thanks to a sanitary device - vertiginous digital works, gleaned from the four corners of the world by the Festival's programming teams. + d'infos

NORTHERN LIGHTS

The North and its consummate art from the TV series. Since Scandinavia burst onto the TV scene - first with Lars Von Trier and The Kingdom before confirming with titles like The Killing, Bron or Borgen - not a year goes by without the North surprising and delighting us. The 2020 vintage being particularly rich, the GIFF devotes an entire program to it.

GIFF 26TH EDITION'S FIRST GUESTS

SARA FORESTIER

ACTRESS IN WORKING GIRLS + d'infos

WOODKID

WINNER OF THE FILM & BEYOND AWARD + d'infos

MADS MIKKELSEN

WINNER OF THE GENEVA AWARD + d'infos

EUROPEAN SCRIPT AWARD

À l’unanimité, le jury attribue le European Script Award à We Got This, série coécrite et interprétée par Schiaffino Musarra. Doté de 10'000 EUR et attribué par l’Alliance Européenne pour la Télévision et la Culture (EATC), le European Script Award a été remis pour la première fois cette année au GIFF. Malgré l'annulation de la 26e édition, le jury composé de Nicolas Dufour (CH), Elena Hazanov (RU-CH) et Raphaël Nieuwjaer (FR), a délibéré en ligne pour déterminer le lauréat du prix parmi les trois séries pré-sélectionnées : We Got ThisGrowHide and Seek.

GENEVA DIGITAL MARKET ➔ 9 - 13 NOVEMBRE

Lieu de réflexion, d’échanges et de réseautage destiné à la fois aux professionnel·le·s de l’audiovisuel et du numérique et aux festivalier·ère·s, le Geneva Digital Market se déroule, cette année, en ligne. Retrouvez gratuitement toutes les activités en live stream et rediffusion ici! Pour les professionnel·le·s accrédité·e·s, nous offrons un lieu de rencontre virtuel afin d’organiser vos rendez-vous matchmaking avec les différent·e·s participant·e·s ainsi qu’une XR Media Library en ligne : l’occasion d’expérimenter une grande partie de notre sélection officielle d’oeuvres immersives et plus encore. +d'infos

GIFF x PLAY SUISSE

En ligne depuis le 7 novembre, la nouvelle plateforme de la SSR « Play Suisse » offre une palette de films, séries, documentaires et compilations de concerts mais aussi, une sélection spéciale GIFF dédiée aux films qui ont fait l’histoire du cinéma suisse. Gratuite et accessible sur tout le territoire helvétique, rdv sur le site internet de la SSR SRG pour visionner tout le patrimoine audiovisuel suisse!

La 26e édition du GIFF est annulée

Suite aux récentes décisions du Conseil fédéral et devant une situation sanitaire se péjorant de jour en jour, le Geneva International Film Festival a pris la lourde décision d’annuler sa prochaine édition, qui devait avoir lieu du 6 au 15 novembre 2020. Le rendez-vous professionnel de la manifestation, le Geneva Digital Market, quant à lui, a lieu en ligne, comme prévu initialement. Télécharger le communiqué de presse

LE TRAILER DE LA 26E ÉDITION!

La 26e édition en images!

FOCUS

OUR DIGITAL SELVES

Depuis 2016, le GIFF offre une plateforme de diffusion à la création digitale suisse dans le cadre de son programme professionnel (Geneva Digital Market). Révélant toute la richesse de cette scène artistique, l’exposition Our Digital Selves invite le public à s’ouvrir à de nouveaux territoires de pensées à travers une sélection d’œuvres revisitées ou produites spécialement pour l’occasion. + d'infos + lien GDM

PLAZA VR CINEMA

C’est dans cet espace mythique que le GIFF installe un cinéma virtuel doté de sièges pivotants et de casques VR. Le public peut y expérimenter – en toute sécurité, grâce à un dispositif sanitaire – des œuvres numériques vertigineuses, glanées aux quatre coins du monde par les équipes de programmation du Festival. + d'infos

NORTHERN LIGHTS

Le Nord et son art consommé de la série tv. Depuis que la Scandinavie a fait irruption sur la scène télévisuelle – d’abord avec Lars Von Trier et The Kingdom avant de confirmer avec des titres comme The Killing, Bron ou Borgen – il ne se passe plus une année sans que le Nord nous surprenne et nous régale. La cuvée 2020 étant particulièrement riche, le GIFF lui consacre un programme entier.

LES PREMIER·ÈRE·S INVITÉ·E·S DE LA 26E ÉDITION

SARA FORESTIER

ACTRICE DANS FILLES DE JOIE + d'infos

WOODKID

LAURÉAT DU FILM & BEYOND AWARD, REMISE DU PRIX LE 12.11 + d'infos

MADS MIKKELSEN

REMISE DU GENEVA AWARD LE 13.11 À ARDITI + d'infos